Week 2 – Artist Interview: Gianina Nunez

After visiting all the galleries, there was one artist that captured my most attention: Gianina Nunez. Gianina Nunez is a senior attending California State University of Long Beach. Her art gallery, called “Love Always,” was featured in the Merlino Gallery. She currently teaches people from the ages of 7 to adults how to paint and draw. At the age of nine years old, Gianina knew that she wanted to become an artist.

img_4353

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

“Daddy’s Little Girl” – Gianina Nunez

The paintings in her gallery featured different pictures of “still life.” She defined still life pictures to depict parts of daily life that includes different inanimate objects that has a hidden meaning behind it. These paintings were inspired by Erin Renigade. When I walked into her gallery, I noticed that all of the paintings had notes or letters in it. The painting that stood out the most to me was “Daddy’s Little Girl.”

The story behind this painting started when she was younger, and she and her dad went on a retreat. She and her father were both given a record with a little piece of paper in the middle, where they would write something they want to tell one another. She told me that many people think that the glasses in the picture were hers, but they were actually her father’s. The breadcrumbs were also her father’s after he ate a piece of cookie.

For some reason, this piece of art really touched me, especially because of the note that her father wrote for her. I’m very close with my dad, especially when I was younger. But as I was growing up, I began to branch off and started being more independent, but I will always be forever grateful for my the support my dad has given me throughout these years. The note that was written on the record touched me because it reminded me of my loving and caring dad.

Leave a Reply

