Week 5 – Classmate Interview: Janelle Reyes

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetHello world! This is my new friend Janelle Reyes. She’s a a freshman, kinda like me, who dorms at Parkside on campus. She’s currently majoring in chemical engineering. I actually met Janelle at our first class meeting, but I didn’t really get to get to know her until last Thursday. She absolutely loves to eat burritos and taqueria. Although she is majoring in chemical engineering, she plans on joining the peace corps in the future. She wants to join the peace corps because she believes that this exposure to different parts of the world will be a good experience for her and also because she loves travelling. The Philippines and parts of Europe are some of the countries she’s visited before. I was so amazed that she was able to visit the different parts of Europe, so I asked her more about her trip there. She told me that she was on a history trip and visited Italy and Switzerland, where she had her first drink. I think it’s so interesting that some countries have a drinking age of 18, while the Unite States’s drinking age is 21. Janelle was even telling me how open some Europeans were about drinking because some of the times she got a drink there, they didn’t even bother to check her ID.

Janelle is from Sunnyville, which is around 20 minutes away from San Jose. She’s involved in many organizations on campus, including PAC (Pilipino-American Coalition), which I recently became a part of this Spring semester. On her free time, she loves to listen to music and play different instruments such as the guitar, piano, and ukulele. Back in high school, she was part of the marching band and played the trombone. I’m really glad that I finally had a chance to get to know Janelle!

Leave a Reply

