Week 6 – Activity: Yarn Bombing

After watching the video about yarn bombing in class the other day, I was amazed at how people reacted to the artist’s yarn bombing. I visited the second floor of the FA2 building the other day and saw the different kinds of art that people have made.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetIt’s crazy how people are able to bend, tie, or weave the materials into different shapes. For example, that picture on the right shows a person riding a bicycle. I wonder how long it took for that person to make that and if it was difficult for her to make it so. Pay attention to the detail that this person included in this piece. My favorite part of it is the glasses and hat. There were also other pieces of art in the same cabinet as the man on the bike.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetFor this week’s activity, we had to include a picture of yarn bombing. I’ve never really knit anything before, so I decided to give it a try. After looking through several Youtube videos and Wiki How pages on how to knit, I was unsuccessful. I didn’t want to stop at that though, so I went to Costa Mesa to visit this place called The Lab. The Lab, as the people would describe it, is an anti-mall. It’s very different compared to other malls because I would describe is as a very hipster place to be. Anyways, the main reason why I visited this anti-mall is because of their well-known yarn bombing located somewhere in the middle. I was amazed how someone could make something simple look so beautiful. The different colors they chose made the area look so much more vibrant. I observed that there must have been a time where the yarn might have torn and in order to fix it, people knit over the tears with a brand new color. I looked at the yarn closer and saw the little tiny holes in between the strings.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Compared to graffiti bombing, I think people appreciate yarn bombing more because graffiti is something may people look down upon. People associate graffiti with other things, like vandalism, than art. People might see yarn bombing as something feminine to do, because knitting is something more women do than men. I don’t see any femininity in yarn bombing. It’s just that more women do it than men. Graffiti bombing is something I think both genders do a lot. I don’t really see it as a masculine thing to do because spray paint can be used to paint many things. After learning a little bit about yarn bombing, I definitely appreciate it more than I did before.

Leave a Reply

