Week 10 – Artist Interview: Dawn Ertl

This week we had an artist talk about her works in class the other day and showed us one picture about what we would see in her gallery, but I surely did not expect to see what I saw as I walked into her gallery. Ertl states that her art portrays her interpretation of the world and that the weave installments shows the relationships between the people who are very industrialized and the other people surrounding them. Compared to the other artists I’ve interviewed before, Erlt is the one that stood out because of how different and complex her art was.

3

I entered her gallery expecting to see just strands of yarn displayed, but that was definitely incorrect. What I saw definitely out-shined my expectations. On display was strands of yarn weaved together with other items, such as plastic bags. When asked about the other objects, she explained that the strands represent the industrial society and the plastic bags show how the society affects the environment.

I also saw a couple of blue prints of her work that made me realize how complex her artwork really is:

6 5

Ertl said that she would not have been able to make her art without the helps of her friends and family. The plastic bags that she used in her artworks were contributed by those who supported her. It is truly inspiring how she was able to make art out of little things such as plastic bags, which many people would consider as trash. But that is definitely something people don’t take in consideration. Where do our trash go after we throw it in the bin? Does our community make environmental friendly decisions or not? These are just a couple questions that people should think about when throwing away their next can of soda or grocery bag. Ertl’s art reminds me of Graduate Assistant Brittany Binder’s art when I visited her at her exhibit for extra credit. My first glance of Ertl’s art was just a couple of yarns weaved together, but my view of her art drastically changed after discovering the true and deep meaning behind her art.

4 2 1

Leave a Reply

