Week 10: Student’s Choice – Video Project

When I first saw the Student’s Choice page on the website, I had no idea what I was going to do. Then I started looking through the ideas that our professor had and BAM! I knew exactly what I wanted to do for this project. I’ve never actually edited and filmed a video before so I told myself to might as well try it for this project. I approached this project by first looking for a program that isn’t too complex or expensive for me use (because you know how that poor college life is) so I just searched up easy to use (and free) websites/programs on the internet. I came across this website called WeVideo. This website lets you upload videos and also input music that goes along with the video. The website looks like this:

artThe last time I’ve seen something like this was during my Freshman year in high school when my friends and I made a film for history, so I didn’t really know how to operate it. I watched a introduction video on the website and it looked pretty easy enough for me to use! Now that I found a website to help me make a video I have to start filming. I recently bought my parents this really nice video camera so I was pretty excited to use it myself; the brand was Canon too!

The next day I decided to film my whole entire day because it was my and my boyfriend’s (his name is Chris) monthniversay. Apparently he planned the whole day and it was supposed to be a surprise, which sounded exciting! My whole plan for today was to keep filming and then edit later when I get home, so that’s exactly what I did. After getting all the footage from that day I looked through every single video and picked which one would work and which one wouldn’t. I never really understand why editing took so long, but after doing this, I have so much respect for people who do them for a living! Picking videos, cutting the videos, and adjusting the audio took almost 2 and a half hours. I picked the song called “We Could Happen” by AJ Rafael and made that the video’s theme song. The website also gave me options to change the video’s theme, such as darkening or enhancing them, but I decided to stick to the original ones because it had good lighting. Overall, this film and video editing experience was such a blast, and I definitely plan on doing this again. Even though it took hours to film, edit, and upload the video, watching the result of my hard work was truly rewarding. I can’t wait to learn more about filming as I continue this as a hobby! I hope you enjoy the video!

Leave a Reply

