Week 12 – Classmate Interview: Jacob Macmaster

photo (6)

This week I got a chance to meet Jacob Macmaster, which was one of the coolest people I know. He’s currently a 4th year (and a half), which I thought was super crazy because he didn’t look any age over 20! He moved to Long Beach from Fresno. The first thing he noticed about me was I was wearing Greek letters on my sweater. I soon found out that he was also part of the Greek community too! He was part of the Sigma Pi fraternity for about a year and a half. He was telling me how he didn’t get to be as active in the fraternity as much as he wanted to because his grades were slipping. I can totally understand his situation because I am also part of a sorority that takes so much of my time, and balancing between extracurriculars and school was definitely very difficult. He also told me that he was a biology major, so he had a lot of math and science classes, which is pretty similar to me as well! I told him that I have to take CHEM 111A and 111B next year and he told me that those classes are one of the hardest classes he’s ever taken in his life. Outside of school, Jacob loves to go snowboarding. When i told him that I’ve never been snowboarding in my life, he was in shock and suggested to go to Snow Summit or Big Bear if I ever do go try it out. Apart from Sigma Pi, he was vice president of the schools dentist club, where they went on many outings, visiting dental schools, and listening to speakers and their advice. While we were finishing up our conversation, a girl came up and gave Jacob a hug and to only find out that she was his fiancé! As a freshman in college, I don’t have too many friends who are engaged or married, so that was pretty cool. It was a such a great pleasure getting to know Jacob.

Leave a Reply

